icon-arrow-mobile-menu-dropdown icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-calendar icon-filter-select icon-compass icon-mail icon-facebook social-googleplus icon-hamburger icon-instagram icon-linkedin icon-map icon-minus-accordion icon-play icon-plus icon-quotemark icon-search icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-widget-updown icon-x social-youtube

In addition to their academic expertise, our IPD faculty have professional experience in major international organizations, including UNCHR (the UN Refugee Agency), USAID, the World Bank, and the State Department. They bring a genuine commitment to the success of our students and become mentors and colleagues.

Regular Faculty

Tsuneo Akaha


Email: takaha@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3564
Office: Casa Fuente Building CF300J

William Arrocha

Assistant Professor

Email: warrocha@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4163
Office: Casa Fuente Building CF300H

Mahabat Baimyrzaeva

Associate Professor

Email: mbaimyrz@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4155
Office: McCone Building

Jan Knippers Black


Email: jblack@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4180
Office: McCone Building M117

Jeff Dayton-Johnson

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Institute

Email: jdaytonjohnson@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4647
Office: Segal Building

Fernando DePaolis

Associate Professor

Email: FDePaolis@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3568
Office: McCone Building M113

Kent Glenzer

Dean and Program Chair, Master of Business Administration

Email: kglenzer@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4149
Office: McCone Building M114

Pushpa Iyer

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Conflict Studies

Email: piyer@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-7104
Office: McCone Building M124D

Nükhet Kardam


Email: nkardam@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4147
Office: Casa Fuente Building CF300E

Edward J. Laurance

Gordon Paul Smith Professor Emeritus

Email: elauranc@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4144
Office: Casa Fuente 443D

Beryl Levinger

Distinguished Professor and Program Chair, International Policy and Development; Master of Public Administration

Email: BLevinger@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6640
Office: McCone Building M212

Wei Liang

Professor and Program Co-Chair, International Trade and Economic Diplomacy

Email: wliang@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4142
Office: McCone Building M116

Robert McCleery


Email: rmccleer@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4146
Office: McCone Building M112

Phil Murphy

Associate Professor

Email: pjmurphy@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4600
Office: McCone Building M224

Alfredo Ortiz

Adjunct Faculty

Email: aortiz@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4675
Office: McCone Building 320B

Scott Pulizzi

Visiting Assistant Professor

Email: spulizzi@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4155
Office: Casa Fuente CF443A

Moyara Ruehsen

Associate Professor

Email: mruehsen@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4145
Office: McCone Building M213