Working together for healthy oceans, well-managed and resilient coastlines, and long-term human welfare and prosperity.

General Contact Information

The Center for the Blue Economy
Middlebury Institute of International Studies
460 Pierce Street
Monterey, CA 93940
(831) 647-6615

Media Contact

The Center for the Blue Economy is involved in the national conversation about climate change, conservation, and economic policy. Dr. Jason Scorse and Dr. Charles Colgan are our resident experts, and we welcome media contact. 

Center for the Blue Economy Staff

The Center for the Blue Economy staff members work together to accomplish our research, academic, and collaboration goals.

Jason Scorse

Associate Professor; Program Chair, International Environmental Policy; Director, Center for the Blue Economy

Craig Building K22

Charles Colgan

Research Director, Center for the Blue Economy (CBE)

Craig Building CR20

Patrick (Pat) Johnston

Data Manager, Center for the Blue Economy

Craig Building CR-12

Rachel Christopherson

Program Manager, Center for the Blue Economy

Craig Building CR12

Anthony Castelletto

Research Associate, Center for the Blue Economy

Craig Building CR-20

The Center for the Blue Economy Senior Fellows

Senior Fellows are distinguished scholars and practitioners who work with the Center for the Blue Economy on research, internships, and fellowships for students, and on events that help the center achieve its mission.

Juliano Calil CBE Senior Fellow & MIIS Adjunct Faculty

Juliano Calil

Adjunct Faculty, Middlebury Institute of International Studies

Yunguang Chen CBE Senior Fellow

Yunguang (YG) Chen

Postdoctoral Fellow, Resources for the Future

David Helvarg

David Helvarg

Author & Executive Director, Blue Frontier

Brendan Kelly CBE Senior Fellow

Brendan Kelly

Executive Director, SEARCH: the Study of Environmental Arctic Change

Philip King CBE Senior Fellow

Philip (Phil) King

Associate Professor of Economics, San Francisco State University
Editorial Board Member, Journal of Ocean and Coastal Economics, Center for the Blue Economy

Wallace J Nichols CBE Senior Fellow

Wallace “J.” Nichols

Author, Researcher, Lecturer

Michael Orbach CBE Senior Fellow

Michael Orbach

Professor Emeritus in the Practice of Marine Affairs and Policy, Duke University

Tracy Rouleau CBE Senior Fellow

Tracy Rouleau

President and Founder, TBD Economics, LLC

Mark Spalding CBE Senior Fellow

Mark Spalding

President, The Ocean Foundation

The Center for the Blue Economy Advisory Council

The volunteer Advisory Council helps to guide the center’s research and fundraising priorities. These dedicated professionals offer a wealth of knowledge and experience in ocean and coastal sustainability—from marine science to policy to business.

Michael Conathan CBE Advisory Council Member

Michael Conathan

Executive Director, Aspen High Seas Initiative

Jeff Dayton-Johnson CBE Advisory Council Member

Jeff Dayton-Johnson (ex-officio)

Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Institute, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey

Melissa Garren

Melissa Garren

Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Working Oceans Strategies

Robin and Deborah Hicks CBE Advisory Council Members

Robin and Deborah Hicks

Trustees, Loker Foundation

Judy Kildow CBE Advisory Council Member

Judith Kildow

Founder and Director Emeritus, National Ocean Economics Program

Geraldine Knatz CBE Advisory Council Member

Geraldine Knatz

Professor of the Practice of Policy and Engineering, University of Southern California (USC) Price School of Public Policy, joint appointment with the Sonny Astani Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, USC Viterbi School of Engineering

Peter Macy headshot, white polo shirt in a home setting, smiling a sly and intelligent smile

Peter Macy

Chief Business Officer, Blue Ocean Gear

Pawan Patil CBE Advisory Council Member

Pawan Patil

Senior Economist, The World Bank

William Sharpe CBE Advisory Council Member

William (Bill) Sharpe

Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business
Nobel Prize Laureate 1990, Economic Sciences

Dylan Todd Simonds

Dylan Todd Simonds

Chair, the Dylan Todd Simonds Foundation

Additional Collaborators

Other vital members of our team include the International Environmental Policy Faculty, Visiting Scholars, and Research Partners around the world. Bringing sound ocean and coastal resource management to fruition is a group effort.