Our translation and interpretation faculty have years of professional and academic experience and continue to be active in their respective fields. Here you will learn with conference, court, and healthcare interpreters; technical, financial, legal, and celebrated literary translators, translation and interpretation scholars, and pedagogical leaders.

Christiane Abel

Associate Professor; Program Head, French Translation and Interpretation

Email: cabel@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3555
Office: 400 Pacific Street D206

Carles Andreu

Assistant Professor of Professional Practice, Spanish Translation

Email: candreu@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6432
Office: McCone Building, M236

John Balcom

Professor

Email: jbalcom@miis.edu
Tel: (802) 443-5286
Office: McCone Building M117

Chuanyun Bao

Professor

Email: cbao@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4172
Office: Casa Fuente Building CF300B

Laura Burian

Dean, Graduate School of Translation, Interpretation, and Language Education

Email: lburian@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3554
Office: McCone Building M205

Charles Cai

Assistant Professor

Email: rcai@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3541
Office: Casa Fuente Bulding CF300H

Lijian Cai

Professor of Professional Practice

Email: lijianc@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4611
Office: IIRC Building 8

Leire Carbonell Aguero

Associate Professor

Email: lcarbonell@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4177
Office: McCone Building M234

Wallace Chen 陳瑞清

Professor; Program Head, Chinese Translation and Interpretation

Email: juiching@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4167
Office: IIRC Building 3

Marsha Man-Hua Chou

Associate Professor

Email: mchou@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3588
Office: IIRC Building 4

Wei Ding

Assistant Professor

Email: wding@miis.edu
Office: McCone Building M119

Yuanyuan (Cherry) Ding

Assistant Professor

Email: yuanyuand@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3084
Office: McCone Building M231

Michael Gillen

Professor

Email: mgillen@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4192
Office: McCone Building 102B

George Henson

Assistant Professor

Email: ghenson@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3549
Office: McCone Building, M235

Andrea Hofmann-Miller

Associate Professor; Program Head, German Translation and Interpretation

Email: ahofmann@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3527
Office: McCone Building M104

Julie Johnson

Professor; Program Chair, Translation, Translation and Interpretation, Conference Interpretation

Email: jejohnso@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3089
Office: McCone Building M123

Rosa Kavenoki

Professor; Program Head, Russian Translation and Interpretation

Email: rkavenok@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3515
Office: IIRC Building 6

Samuel J. Kim

Assistant Professor, Korean Translation and Interpretation

Email: sjkim@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6568
Office: McCone Building M129

Sieun Lee

Assistant Professor, Korean Translation and Interpretation

Email: sieunl@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6636
Office: McCone Building M105

Barry Slaughter Olsen

Associate Professor

Email: bsolsen@miis.edu
Tel: (202) 601-2353
Office: IIRC Building 5

Patty Pai

Assistant Professor

Email: ppai@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6401
Office: McCone M118
Office Hours: Office Hour during “shelter-in-place”: Thurs 8:30a-9:45a via Zoom: https://middlebury.zoom.us/j/9922511428

Tanya Pound Williams

Assistant Professor

Email: tpound@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4189
Office: McCone Building M108

Hideko Russell

Assistant Professor; Program Head, Japanese Translation and Interpretation

Email: hrussell@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4621
Office: McCone Building M122

Xiaoyan Shen

Assistant Professor

Email: xiaoyans@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3526
Office: McCone Building 229

Cas Shulman-Mora

Associate Professor; Program Head, Spanish Translation and Interpretation

Email: cshulmanmora@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4161
Office: McCone Building M103

Miryoung Sohn

Associate Professor; Program Head, Korean Translation and Interpretation

Email: msohn@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3552
Office: McCone Building M106

Nancy Tsai

Assistant Professor

Email: ntsai@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4160
Office: McCone Building M126

Visiting Faculty

Dmitry Buzadzhi

Visiting Professor

Email: dbuzadzhi@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4116
Office: IIRC 3

Stephanie Cooper

Visiting Professor

Email: sterriencooper@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3521
Office: IIRC Building 9

Chiyo Mori

Visiting Assistant Professor

Email: chiyom@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3540
Office: McCone Building M231

Faculty Emeritus

Jacolyn Harmer

Professor Emerita

Email: jharmer@miis.edu
Office: McCone Building, M124A

Zinan Ye

Professor Emeritus

Email: zye@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4115
Office: McGowan Building

Adjunct Faculty

Michael Jacobs

Visiting Lecturer

Email: mjacobs@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-7105
Office: McCone Building M130

Joe McClinton

Adjunct Faculty

Email: jmcclinton@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-8110
Office: McCone Building

Maki McEldowney

Adjunct Faculty

Email: mmceldowney@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3544
Office: McCone Building Cubicle J

Holly Mikkelson

Adjunct Professor of Professional Practice

Email: hmikkels@miis.edu

Scott E. Myers

Adjunct Faculty

Email: smyers@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4185

Ming Ren

Adjunct Faculty

Email: mren@middlebury.edu
Office: McCone Building M102A

Arianna Schneider-Stocking

Adjunct Faculty

Email: aschneiderstocking@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4185
Office: McCone Building

Michael Schubert

Adjunct Faculty

Email: mschubert@miis.edu
Tel: (707) 334-0650
Office: McCone Building

Alix Sehr-Stewart

Adjunct Faculty

Email: asehrstewart@miis.edu
Tel: (209) 304-6909
Office: McCone Cubicle N

Cris Silva

Adjunct Faculty

Email: csilva@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4182

Wilhelm Weber

Adjunct Faculty

Email: wweber@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4185
Office: McCone Building